The Ryder Cup


The Ryder Cup is one of the World's top sporting events and fans from around the globe flock to see it's spectacle.

The roots of the Ryder Cup began after an exhibition match in 1926 between a team of American professionals versus a similar team from the British Professional Golf Association.


The Ryder Cup itself was so called after the man who donated it, Samuel Ryder, an English businessman and keen golfer.   Samuel Ryder was a seed merchant who traded in St Albans.  After watching the 1926 match, held on the East Course at Wentworth Club, Virginia Water, Surrey, Mr Ryder thought it would be a great idea to make the match a permanent fixture and turn it into a regular tournament. He donated a trophy and the Ryder Cup was born.

The first Ryder Cup competition was held in 1927 and was won by the US by a significant margin of 9 ½ to 2 ½.

The cup is fought every two years, alternating between a course in the US and Europe, usually in the United Kingdom.

After the second World war, America mostly dominated the Ryder Cup, wand this eventually led to the inclusion of continental Europe players into the British team, to balance it out a little, in 1979.

The 1999 Ryder Cup is perhaps the most controversial. Held at the Brookline County Club course in the US. The Americans were training 10 – 6 going into the final day but went on to win the singles and gain their first victory since 1993. A controversial celebration by the Americans on the 17th hole of the final match as their man Leonard sank an incredible put was said to have put off Spaniard José María Olazábal who missed his put and chance to retain the Ryder Cup.

The Ryder Cup is quite unique in professional sport as the players do not get paid to take part and neither is there any individual prizes. The Ryder Cup is so unique in so many ways.

The tournament has moved on a lot since the exhibition match and the first competition in 1927 at the Worcester Country Club, in Worcester, Massachusetts. It is now